Neo-Geo Acquired! Mission Accomplished.

  I recently had a birthday. While I don’t feel old, I am sure there is some parent’s hand me down iPhone wielding, tiny plastic skateboard riding, training hipster out there that will notify me that I am not a spring chicken. Anyway, I have been around a while. My wife felt that I should get a gift that matched the occasion. After getting me liquored up she got me to spill the beans on what kind of gift she could procure that would match the gravity of the situation. After we got home, she pulled out her credit card and we placed an order. I, we, are now the proud owners of a Consolized MVS.

  A what? A Neo-Geo MVS, not the Neo-Geo AES! What? A Neo-gatdamn-Geo that was used in the motherstuffin’ arcade. Consolized in a beautiful handcrafted wooden case. It contains the board from arcade machine, but is about the size of a SNES. Plays the cartridges from the arcade and can use any Neo-Geo controller!

  I have been wanting a Neo-Geo since I was about ten, but the console and games were always out of my price range. Sometimes my mom would turn me loose in the mall. My pudgy, horizontal stripe wearing body would propel my large gourd like head to the arcade from time to time. I would stroll around trying to figure out what to spend my few begged for with the promise of chores doing dollars on. There were of course Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Simpson’s, Cadash, and Tecmo Knight to name a few. Then there was the red machine that would cycle through the four games it contained. With every splash screen the machine would yell out what game it was displaying. It was obvious this thing wanted my money. That was the Neo-Geo MVS. I remember playing Ninja Combat and Magician Lord with my cousin and Fatal Fury with my friends. Once I saved up my allowance and rented one. My best friend and I played King of Monsters and Robo Army all weekend long. I could feel the weight of the controller in my lap.  Cartridges required two hands and I swear thunder and lighting should have been summoned as we inserted them.

  Regardless of its age the Neo-Geo is still an incredible machine  sought by collectors. In my opinion it is the pinnacle of 2-D pixel games. A lot of games were made over its fourteen year life with still more being made today. I will be busy gathering up the games that I require and maybe some new ones. Albeit slowly as the games haven’t come down in price all that much. this is seriously a gift for the record books. Thanks Bees, I love you.

Leave a Reply

