Camp NaNoWriMo 2015: #2

Well the first week of camp is pretty much over with. Kind of sad to see it leave, but I love to watch it go. I have been in front of my computer every single day – including my birthday – busting my hump writing. Each day, I have hit my word target and according to the website I am on track to finish on the 29th of July.

A few days before camp started I got the bright idea to crank up the post rate on my blog. I have supplied zweihanderplusein’ers with a new post each day since the 26th of last month. It’s manageable, but why the hell did I set two goals at the same time? As the saying goes; Bite off more than you can chew. Then chew it!

At this point I have 12,185 words down. Sure they are in a globulus pile that may have once resembled the idea of what my story was. If I were to start proofreading I believe I would discover some Lovecraftian truth about the universe and just wind up crying in heap on the floor. My sanity and my will to carry on like a wayward son, shattered.

Sure, I will need to go over these words a few extra times along with the 40,000ish other words I haven’t written yet. That was the plan though. Get drunk on the idea of writing a book, I mean really drunk, liquor and beer drunk. Wake up and say, that isn’t my puke drunk. Waddle hung over to the computer, start writing, and hear someone crying from somewhere else in the house drunk. Puke the words out! All over the place in any order. I can clean it up later. Turn it into something people may want to read. Just. Keep. Writing.

Leave a Reply

